Things you THOUGHT were vegan but aren’t – Part 1

So many everyday products are non-vegan; the most surprising thing that I discovered when I became vegetarian was how many of the “fun” foods contained gelatin, which is derived from animal bones, skin, ligaments, etc. When I learned about how gummy bears were really made, it took the innocence right out of them. This is by no means a complete list, but they were surprising to me as a first time vegan/vegetarian.

Because it contains gelatin:

  • Marshmallows
  • Gummy Bears
  • Jell-O
  • Frosted Pop-tarts
  • Skittles
  • Altoids
  • Starburts
  • Planters Peanuts
  • Barefoot Wine
  • Some Yellow Tail Wines
  • Robert Mondavi Wines

Because it contains Isinglass:

  • Some Beer & Wine brands–check if your favorite booze product is vegan here
    • Most Guinness Beers
    • Some Snow Beers
    • Some Michelob Beers
    • Sea Dog Beers
    • Beringer Wines
    • 19 Crimes

Because it contains L-cysteine that is derived human hair or poultry feathers:

  • Some Bread & Bagels from
    • Einstein Bros.
    • Dunkin Donuts
    • McDonald’s
    • Pizza Hut

Because it contains anchovy:

  • Caesar Dressing
  • Tropicana’s Heart Healthy Orange Juice
  • Worcestershire sauce

Because it contains animal-derived enzymes, whey, or casein:

  • Some chips
    • All Doritos except Spicy Sweet Doritos
    • BBQ chips (not all, but I usually stay away from these if I don’t feel like checking the ingredients)
    • Some Lay’s Chips
    • Some Pringles

Because it contains pork:

  • Cole Bread
  • Cuban Bread
  • Minute Maid Juices To Go Ruby Red Grapefruit Drink
  • Jiffy Mix Corn Bread Mix
  • Special K Protein Snack Bars
  • Rice Krispies Treats Squares
  • Welch’s Fruit Snacks
  • Lucky Charms
  • Several Kellogg’s Cereals

What seemingly vegan food or beverage have you discovered wasn’t vegan? What vegan product did you replace it with?

15 thoughts on “Things you THOUGHT were vegan but aren’t – Part 1

  1. Thanks for the reference and for your great work on boats of oats. I checked my brain against your list of products to avoid. It’s insidious how manufacturers drop stuff in that tweaks the tiniest craving for animal-based ingredients.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Razor blades! That little strip will sometimes contain animal products. This was a new find. Also…I know that many vegetarians do eat cheese. My daughter who is vegan recently discovered that Parmesan cheese has enzymes from cows stomachs. Very disgusting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s