Things you THOUGHT were vegan but aren’t – Part 1

So many everyday products are non-vegan; the most surprising thing that I discovered when I became vegetarian was how many of the “fun” foods contained gelatin, which is derived from animal bones, skin, ligaments, etc. When I learned about how gummy bears were really made, it took the innocence right out of them. This is by no means a complete list, but they were surprising to me as a first time vegan/vegetarian.

Because it contains gelatin:

  • Marshmallows
  • Gummy Bears
  • Jell-O
  • Frosted Pop-tarts
  • Skittles
  • Altoids
  • Starburts
  • Planters Peanuts
  • Barefoot Wine
  • Some Yellow Tail Wines
  • Robert Mondavi Wines

Because it contains Isinglass:

  • Some Beer & Wine brands–check if your favorite booze product is vegan here
    • Most Guinness Beers
    • Some Snow Beers
    • Some Michelob Beers
    • Sea Dog Beers
    • Beringer Wines
    • 19 Crimes

Because it contains L-cysteine that is derived human hair or poultry feathers:

  • Some Bread & Bagels from
    • Einstein Bros.
    • Dunkin Donuts
    • McDonald’s
    • Pizza Hut

Because it contains anchovy:

  • Caesar Dressing
  • Tropicana’s Heart Healthy Orange Juice
  • Worcestershire sauce

Because it contains animal-derived enzymes, whey, or casein:

  • Some chips
    • All Doritos except Spicy Sweet Doritos
    • BBQ chips (not all, but I usually stay away from these if I don’t feel like checking the ingredients)
    • Some Lay’s Chips
    • Some Pringles

Because it contains pork:

  • Cole Bread
  • Cuban Bread
  • Minute Maid Juices To Go Ruby Red Grapefruit Drink
  • Jiffy Mix Corn Bread Mix
  • Special K Protein Snack Bars
  • Rice Krispies Treats Squares
  • Welch’s Fruit Snacks
  • Lucky Charms
  • Several Kellogg’s Cereals

What seemingly vegan food or beverage have you discovered wasn’t vegan? What vegan product did you replace it with?

Looking at the Menu

The world has changed a lot since 2011, a time when being vegan/vegetarian meant you were forced to stick to the appetizer and sides menus at restaurants. In 2017, nearly every restaurant I go to has at least one meatless entree item and choices that accommodate the dairy-free. When I went to this restaurant called Earls a few weeks ago, I ordered a vegan burger which prompted the manager to come by our table just to tell us that they offered a vegan alternate to every item on their menu (side note: Earls has the best vegan sushi rolls I’ve ever tasted, which the manager gave to us on the house).

If I’m out to dinner and there’s someone at the table I’ve never met, one of our mutual friends will undoubtedly make my diet a topic of conversation before the waiter comes by to take our order. It usually starts off with someone saying, “oh, Natalie is vegan by the way,” to which this new acquaintance will either say “me too!”, or ask a bunch of questions about what it means to be vegan like “where do you get your protein?” or “do you care if I eat meat in front of you?”

As a culture, we are desensitized to what it means to eat meat. Even as a vegan, I can’t say it bothers me to see people eat meat because it is so engrained in our culture. But if I really think about the question “do you care if I eat meat in front of you?” I have to think, why are you eating meat if the ethical option is there for you? When we think about the health risks of eating meat, how animal agriculture is damaging our environment, and the millions of animals who are suffering for five minutes of our gustatory satisfaction, contributing to this industry seems insane but our society does it anyway. The right choice is clear but we’ve designed it to be the alternative, and although the groupthink is changing, it’s not changing fast enough.

This week I’m going to write about the three common reasons people become vegan/vegetarian: health, environmental, and moral. I think a lot of people who aren’t vegan/vegetarian assume vegans/vegetarians abstain from meat eating because we don’t think animals should be killed for human consumption. While that is part of the reason for many of us, it’s not all of it.

Mayan Guac – 5 Minute Recipe

This is by far the best guac I’ve ever tried (it’s my mother’s Honduran recipe). Be careful when making this, you may never want any other type of guac again!

Ingredients you’ll need for a party of one or a party of four:

  • 1 slice of avocado (4 slices)
  • 3 cilantro leaves (12 leaves)
  • 1/2 a tomato (2 tomatoes)
  • 1/2 lime (2 limes)
  • 1/4 onion dices (1 onion)
  • sprinkle of salt (1/8 teaspoon)
  • sprinkle of pepper (1/8 teaspoon)

fullsizerender-3

Directions:

  1. Mash up the avocado until smooth (it’s okay if it has a few bumps)
  2. Dice up 1/2 a tomato
  3. Dice up 3 cilantro leaves
  4. Dice up 1/4 of an onion
  5. Mix tomato, cilantro, and onion into the mashed guac
  6. Squeeze half a lime into the guac mix
  7. Sprinkle salt and pepper into the guac
  8. Voila! You’re done 🙂

Please let me know in the comments if you try this recipe! And if you have any delicious guacamole tips, send them my way!

 

Can Vegans go to the zoo?

When I was a little girl, the Miami Metro Zoo and the Miami Seaquarium ranked among my favorite places to be, right alongside Magic Kingdom and Chef Mickey’s. I loved seeing and learning about animals that I would never get to see otherwise. Seeing the king of the jungle hang out in real life at the zoo was among the coolest things that could happen to a kid like me who grew up watching anthropomorphic Disney movies like The Lion King. Kids have this wonderful ability to form connections with animals and empathize with them (I remember having full conversations at age 6 with my Pomeranian, Princess). Over the course of growing up, many of us lose this connection with animals, and even if we have pets with whom we connect, we sort of forget what lives can be like for animals that aren’t considered pets, beyond the idyllic, classical representations we have of those animals in our heads.

Animals at the zoo are a perfect example of this. We go there to see these beautiful, wild creatures that we don’t get to see in our regular civilian lives, but these animals are not happy and as a kid I never actually processed that (even as an adult, it can be easy to ignore). As a kid, I’d go to the zoo elated to meet new animal friends! I didn’t think about the fact that some had been snatched from their homes, their families, that some had never seen the vastly stunning wild that would be their natural habitat having been born into the dismal, artificial environment of their tiny zoo habitats. I didn’t see their sadness, their boredom, and their frustration the way I did when I went back years later as a young adult– as a kid, I just saw their beauty, their strangeness, I saw them as the physical representation of every cartoon and movie I’d grown up watching. But that’s not what animals are. Animals are trapped in the paradigm we’ve created for them in our society. Zoos aren’t necessary, they are cruel, and what they teach could be just as beautifully done with animatronics as they are done in several Disney Theme Parks. Sentencing these animals to life imprisonment isn’t ethical. The only places that house animals that I support are rescues, sanctuaries, and zoos that have discontinued bringing in new animals from the wild and are now working to sustain lives that have been born under their watch (if they’ve committed to making those animals the last generation born in the confines of a zoo) or have spent so many years at the zoo they wouldn’t know how to survive if released.

So to answer the question posed in the headline of this post, a vegan should not go to the zoo because zoos exist with the sole purpose of profiting from the use of animals.

Why you should go Vegan

When I was 18 years old, my first year of college was drawing to a close and I had a part-time job as a server at the local Denny’s (which I quit after 5 months working below the minimum wage) where my lunch consisted of free pancakes and bottomless coffee. I was under-informed and mega broke, but after watching a few Netflix documentaries and soul-crushing animal cruelty videos on YouTube, I decided to become a vegetarian (which goes to show, you don’t need big money to make the change). In the months that followed I read books, news articles, watched more documentaries and more online videos and realized that my decision wasn’t only a moral obligation, but if I wanted to live a truly healthy lifestyle, being a vegetarian was a requirement. During my time being vegetarian I’d say things like “I could never be vegan” or “that’s too extreme” or “I can live without meat, but I’d go crazy without cheese/pizza.” Then, on a whim (literally), I decided to try being vegan for a month in October 2014. It’s been over two years since I made that decision and I have yet to go back to being a vegetarian (and now I’ve swapped regular pancakes for the vegan kind).

Since becoming vegan I’ve:

  • Lost almost 20 pounds
  • Had clear skin
  • Had more energy
  • Aged slower
  • Not felt bogged down by a big meal
  • Discovered there is an entirely different world of food when you focus on the vegan diet
  • Found the best vegan restaurants
  • Participated in an Animal Rights volunteer event

I became so much happier just by changing one thing in my life (you are what you eat!). I encourage you to try being vegan for 21 days and see how many of the bullet points above you can say you achieved after being vegan for that long. If you decide to give this a try, let me know! And message me if you have any questions, I’d love to help 🙂

P.S. Being a vegetarian was a great first step for me (I’ll make a separate post about that). If you’re hesitant to jump in (the way I was), cut back on eating animals first and then slowly cut back on animal products.

A Vegan, a Vegetarian, and a Pescatarian walk into a restaurant, What can they eat?

A pescatarian differs from the standard omnivorous diet in that they eat fish but do not eat meat, a vegetarian doesn’t eat meat but eats animal products, and a vegan neither eats animals nor animal products.

Vegan: no animals, no animal byproducts. This means meat, poultry, fish, dairy, broth, etc are off limits. A vegan cannot eat a cookie if it was made using eggs, they can’t eat a pizza if it has non-vegan cheese on it, no bread if it contains lard, and they can’t drink soup if it has chicken broth in it (to name a few examples).

Vegetarian: no animals, meaning they can’t eat steak but can consume cheese pizza, cake, cookies, quesadillas, and more. Some vegetarians won’t consume non-vegan broths, non-vegan breads, gelatin and the like because the making of these foods almost certainly involved the execution of the animal.

Pescatarian: vegetarian that eats fish (or an omnivore that doesn’t eat meat), meaning they don’t eat meat, chicken, etc. but enjoy fish, lobster, clam chowder, and they’ll eat foods made with animal products such a pizza.

To summarize, all three can eat:

But vegetarians can also eat:

And Pescatarians can add this onto their plates: